Between the Fall of 1998 and the Spring of 2001, I wrote 85 articles for the JustArts section of the Brandeis University Justice, our student newspaper, almost all either album reviews or reviews of live performances.  The Justice’s online archives do not go back that far, but I still have copies on my hard drive of each article, pre-editing, and I thought it would be fun to get them online.

All of these are presented unedited and unrevised in the same format in which they were submitted to my editors. I’ve appended, whenever possible, either a song from the album being reviewed or a track from one of the live performers reviewed that was played at that show.  Some of the writing is truly atrocious, but you’ve got to start somewhere, right? Even at its worst, it’s a fun little time capsule of what 1998-2001 looked and sounded like to me, at least a little bit.

I don’t have publication dates for these articles unfortunately, but I do have the date on which each file was submitted, which should be accurate to within a week or so.  (I do have physical copies of each newspaper in which I was published, stashed away in my parents’ basement; at some point I may dig them up and update with the actual publication dates).

Finally, I should note that the vast majority of these reviews were assigned by my editors; my personal listening habits during those years tended, at various times, toward nerd rock and alt.country, among other things.  I also hosted a number of radio shows on our college station, WBRS, over the course of four years, including a reggae show, a country/bluegrass show, a “world” music show (I focused mostly on Africa, though there was some Eastern European traditional music in the mix as well), and a new rock show, and subbed for time to time for everything from a blues show to a traditional Jewish music show. I was immersed in a LOT of music during that time.

As far as I know, this is a complete catalog of everything I wrote during that time period.  Non-album reviews (live shows, movies) are noted as such.

(chronological order by date written)

  • Snowpony – The Slow-Motion World Of Snowpony (9/24/98)
  • Jim’s Big Ego – Don’t Get Smart (10/09/98)
  • Jack Drag – Dope Box (10/09/98)
  • Oasis – The Masterplan (10/30/98)
  • Dream Theater – Once In A Livetime (11/13/98)
  • Syrva – The Quest (1/22/99)
  • Brandeis Ensemble Theater Coffeehouse [live show feat. Joshua Benson, Junk Male, Roger & The Presenters, Company B, Jaimee Brooke, Bluehouse Effect] (2/05/99)
  • Collective Soul – Dosage / Silverchair – Neon Ballroom (2/10/99)
  • Brenda Kahn [live performance] (2/12/99)
  • Black 47 – Live In New York City (3/04/99)
  • Sleater-Kinney – The Hot Rock (3/06/99)
  • Brandeisians Releasing CDs roundup [feature on Tara Filowitz, Beth Goldstein, Adam Klein, Jaimee Brooke] (3/21/99)
  • Placebo – Without You I’m Nothing (3/21/99)
  • Jaimee Brooke [live performance] (3/21/99)
  • We – Square Root Of Negative One (3/27/99)
  • Kula Shaker – Peasants Pigs & Astronauts (3/27/99)
  • VA – WBRS Sampler EP [feat. tracks from Chucklehead, Lisa Loeb, Five O’Clock Shadow, Moxy Fruvous, G Love] (9/11/99)
  • Foxtrot Zulu – Frozen In Time (9/11/99)
  • BUMFest [live show feat. Avram Berkson, Myq Kaplan, Dave Jackel, BILF, Huzyerdady, Bleido The Polish Oxcart,  Bluehouse Effect, Modeles] (9/25/99)
  • Our Lady Peace – Happiness…Is Not A Fish That You Can Catch (9/25/99)
  • Nine Inch Nails – The Fragile (9/26/99)
  • Stereolab – Cobra And Phases Group Play Voltage In The Milky Night (10/03/99)
  • The Crush – Blood Red Moon (10/09/99)
  • Live – The Distance To Here (10/09/99)
  • Tympanium Euphorium Coffeehouse [live show feat. Adam Klein, Boris’ Kitchen, Junk Male, Huzyerdady] (10/09/99)
  • Interview with Dave Jackel of The Crush (10/10/99)
  • Hothouse Coffeehouse [live show feat. Myq Kaplan, Huzyerdady, The Crush] (10/24/99)
  • Cyclefly – Generation Sap (10/28/99)
  • Beulah – When Your Heartstrings Break (10/28/99)
  • Women’s Lacrosse Coffeehouse [live show feat. Josh Benson, Bluehouse Effect] (10/30/99)
  • My Grandfather Was A Spy – Sleepless Knights / Interview w. Myq Kaplan (10/31/99)
  • Fuel / Bif Naked [live performance] (10/31/99)
  • Pokemon: The First Movie [movie review] (11/14/99)
  • Dogma [movie review] (11/14/99)
  • Dave Matthews Band – Listener Supported (11/19/99)
  • Late Night Snack with Andrew Slack [TV Pilot Taping] (11/20/99)
  • Students For A Free Tibet Coffeehouse [live show feat. Jacob Labendz, Bluehouse Effect, False Advertising] (11/21/99)
  • New A Capella Groups Rundown [feat. Proscenium and Jewish Fella A Capella] (11/21/99)
  • Rustic Overtones – Volume Up EP (1/23/00)
  • Morphine – The Night (1/30/00)
  • Liz Nickrenz [live performance] (1/30/00)
  • Adam Brodsky – Folk Remedy (2/06/00)
  • Sekou Sundiata – longstoryshort (2/06/00)
  • Michael Penn – MP4 (3/12/00)
  • Frankie Machine – One (3/19/00)
  • Mindless Self Indulgence – Frankenstein Girls Will Seem Strangely Sexy (3/19/00)
  • eels – Daisies Of The Galaxy (3/26/00)
  • Poison – Crack A Smile…And More! (3/26/00)
  • Sarah Slean / Sarah Harmer / Feist [live performance] (3/26/00)
  • Crazytown – The Gift Of Game (4/30/00)
  • Pimpadelic – Southern Devils (5/19/00)
  • Dinosaur [movie review] (5/19/00)
  • Barenaked Ladies – Maroon (9/09/00)
  • Schleigho – Continent (9/09/00)
  • Bittersweet Motel [movie review] (9/09/00)
  • The Crush – The Crush EP (9/18/00)
  • Fuel – Something Like Human (9/16/00)
  • Phish [live performance] (9/17/00)
  • Good Charlotte – Good Charlotte (9/22/00)
  • Jim’s Big Ego – noplace like nowhere (9/23/00)
  • Brandeis Players Coffeehouse [live show feat. Liliana Kualapai, Valerie Kolko & Jeff Bouthiette; Zuss & Hel; Ron Wilson & Michael Lamblin; Chappie & Pals; Roger & The Presenters] (9/30/00)
  • Feminist Majority Leadership Alliance Coffeehouse [live show feat. Kate Schutt; Zuss & Hel; …Except For Sarah; Chappie & Pals] (10/13/00)
  • James Michael – Inhale / Live Performance (10/15/00)
  • Louis Magazine Coffeehouse [live show feat. The Crush, Huzyerdady, …Except For Sara] (10/16/00)
  • Little Shop Of Horrors Coffeehouse [live show feat. Company B, False Advertising, Starving Artists, Zuss & Hel] (10/29/00)
  • Brandeis Democrats Coffeehouse [live show feat. In Sync, Up The Octave, Chappie & Pals, Greg Levine, Sarah Mason & Chris Bersbach] (11/05/00)
  • Voicemale Family Weekend Show [live performance with The Buffers] (11/05/00)
  • Offspring – Conspiracy Of One (11/09/00)
  • The Grinch [movie review] (11/18/00)
  • Ricky Martin – Sound Loaded / Spice Girls – Forever / Backstreet Boys – Black & Blue (11/18/00)
  • The Pledge [movie review] (1/21/01)
  • Pete Seeger [live performance] (1/30/01)
  • Ben Harper / Jack Johnson [live performance] (2/04/01)
  • The Mexican [movie review] (3/10/01)
  • A Capella Fest [live show feat. Starving Artists, Ball In The House, Spur Of The Moment, Proscenium, Up The Octave] (3/11/01)
  • Kevin So [live performance] (3/11/01)
  • Roberto Vizcaino [live performance] (3/17/01)
  • Henry Rollins – A Rollins In The Wry (3/17/01)
  • Company B CD Release Coffeehouse [live show feat. Company B, Ransom Notes, Late Night Players] (3/18/01)
  • Judicial Revue 3 [live show feat. The Royal We, Good Question, Chappie & Pals, Formula 1, Dow Jones & The Industrials, Kate Schutt] (3/18/01)
  • Garageland – Do What You Want (3/24/01)
  • Islam Awareness Week Event [feat. Cambridge Turkish Music Group, art and food exhibition] (4/03/01)
  • James O’Brien and Karaugh Brown [live performance] (4/29/01)

(alphabetical order, with date written)

  • Adam Brodsky – Folk Remedy (2/06/00)
  • Adam Klein [interview] (3/21/99); [live performance] (10/09/99)
  • Avram Berkson [live performance] (9/25/99)
  • Backstreet Boys – Black & Blue (11/18/00)
  • Ball In The House [live performance] (3/11/01)
  • Barenaked Ladies – Maroon (9/09/00)
  • Ben Harper [live performance] (2/04/01)
  • Beth Goldstein [interview] (3/21/99)
  • Beulah – When Your Heartstrings Break (10/28/99)
  • Bif Naked [live performance] (10/31/99)
  • BILF [live performance] (9/25/99)
  • Bittersweet Motel [movie review] (9/09/00)
  • Black 47 – Live In New York City (3/04/99)
  • Bleido The Polish Oxcart [live performance] (9/25/99)
  • Bluehouse Effect [live performance] (2/05/99), (9/25/99), (10/30/99), (11/21/99)
  • Boris’ Kitchen [live performance] (10/09/99)
  • Brenda Kahn [live performance] (2/12/99)
  • the Buffers [live performance] (11/05/00)
  • Cambridge Turkish Music Group [live performance] (4/03/01)
  • Chappie & Pals [live performance] (9/30/00), (10/13/00), (11/05/00), (3/18/01)
  • Chucklehead – WBRS Sampler EP (9/11/99)
  • Collective Soul – Dosage (2/10/99)
  • Company B [live performance] (2/05/99), (10/29/00), (3/18/01)
  • Crazytown – The Gift Of Game (4/30/00)
  • The Crush – Blood Red Moon (10/09/99); The Crush EP (9/18/00); [live performance] (10/24/99), (10/16/00)
  • Cyclefly – Generation Sap (10/28/99)
  • Dave Jackel [interview] (10/10/99); [live performance] (9/25/99)
  • Dave Matthews Band – Listener Supported (11/19/99)
  • Dinosaur [movie review] (5/19/00)
  • Dogma [movie review] (11/14/99)
  • Dow Jones & The Industrials [live performance] (3/18/01)
  • Dream Theater – Once In A Livetime (11/13/98)
  • eels – Daisies Of The Galaxy (3/26/00)
  • …Except For Sarah [live performance] (10/13/00), (10/16/00)
  • False Advertising [live performance] (11/21/99), (10/29/00)
  • Feist [live performance] (3/26/00)
  • Five O’Clock Shadow – WBRS Sampler EP (9/11/99)
  • Formula 1 [live performance] (3/18/01)
  • Foxtrot Zulu – Frozen In Time (9/11/99)
  • Frankie Machine – One (3/19/00)
  • Fuel – Something Like Human (9/16/00); [live performance] (10/31/99)
  • G Love – WBRS Sampler EP (9/11/99)
  • Garageland – Do What You Want (3/24/01)
  • Good Charlotte – Good Charlotte (9/22/00)
  • Good Question [live performance] (3/18/01)
  • Greg Levine [live performance] (11/05/00)
  • The Grinch [movie review] (11/18/00)
  • Henry Rollins – A Rollins In The Wry (3/17/01)
  • Huzyerdady [live performance] (9/25/99), (10/09/99), (10/24/99), (10/16/00)
  • In Sync [live performance] (11/05/00)
  • Jack Drag – Dope Box (10/09/98)
  • Jack Johnson [live performance] (2/04/01)
  • Jacob Lebendz [live performance] (11/21/99)
  • Jaimee Brooke [live performance] (2/05/99), (3/21/99); [interview] (3/21/99)
  • James O’Brien [live performance] (4/29/01)
  • Jewish Fella A Capella [feature] (11/21/99)
  • James Michael – Inhale (10/15/00); [live performance] (10/15/00)
  • Jim’s Big Ego – Don’t Get Smart (10/09/98); noplace like nowhere (9/23/00)
  • Joshua Benson [live performance] (2/05/99), (10/30/99)
  • Junk Male [live performance] (2/05/99), (10/09/99)
  • Karaugh Brown [live performance] (4/29/01)
  • Kate Schutt [live performance] (10/13/00), (3/18/01)
  • Kevin So [live performance] (3/11/01)
  • Kula Shaker – Peasants Pigs & Astronauts (3/27/99)
  • Late Night Players [live performance] (3/18/01)
  • Late Night Snack with Andrew Slack [TV Pilot Taping] (11/20/99)
  • Liliana Kualapai, Valerie Kolko & Jeff Bouthiette [live performance] (9/30/00)
  • Lisa Loeb – WBRS Sampler EP (9/11/99)
  • Live – The Distance To Here (10/09/99)
  • Liz Nickrenz [live performance] (1/30/00)
  • The Mexican [movie review] (3/10/01)
  • Michael Penn – MP4 (3/12/00)
  • Mindless Self Indulgence – Frankenstein Girls Will Seem Strangely Sexy (3/19/00)
  • Modeles [live performance] (9/25/99)
  • Morphine – The Night (1/30/00)
  • Moxy Fruvous – WBRS Sampler EP (9/11/99)
  • My Grandfather Was A Spy – Sleepless Knights (10/31/99)
  • Myq Kaplan [interview] (10/31/99); [live performance] (9/25/99), (10/24/99)
  • Nine Inch Nails – The Fragile (9/26/99)
  • Oasis – The Masterplan (10/30/98)
  • Offspring – Conspiracy Of One (11/09/00)
  • Our Lady Peace – Happiness…Is Not A Fish That You Can Catch (9/25/99)
  • Pete Seeger [live performance] (1/30/01)
  • Phish [live performance] (9/17/00)
  • Pimpadelic – Southern Devils (5/19/00)
  • Placebo – Without You I’m Nothing (3/21/99)
  • The Pledge [movie review] (1/21/01)
  • Poison – Crack A Smile…And More! (3/26/00)
  • Pokemon: The First Movie [movie review] (11/14/99)
  • Proscenium [feature] (11/21/99); [live performance] (3/11/01)
  • Ransom Notes [live performance] (3/18/01)
  • Ricky Martin – Sound Loaded (11/18/00)
  • Roberto Vizcaino [live performance] (3/17/01)
  • Roger & The Presenters [live performance] (2/05/99), (9/30/00)
  • Ron Wilson & Michael Lamblin [live performance] (9/30/00)
  • The Royal We [live performance] (3/18/01)
  • Rustic Overtones – Volume Up EP (1/23/00)
  • Sarah Harmer [live performance] (3/26/00)
  • Sarah Mason & Chris Bersbach [live performance] (11/05/00)
  • Sarah Slean [live performance] (3/26/00)
  • Schleigho – Continent (9/09/00)
  • Sekou Sundiata – longstoryshort (2/06/00)
  • Silverchair – Neon Ballroom (2/10/99)
  • Sleater-Kinney – The Hot Rock (3/06/99)
  • Snowpony – The Slow-Motion World Of Snowpony (9/24/98)
  • Spice Girls – Forever (11/18/00)
  • Spur Of The Moment [live performance] (3/11/01)
  • Starving Artists [live performance] (10/29/00), (3/11/01)
  • Stereolab – Cobra And Phases Group Play Voltage In The Milky Night (10/03/99)
  • Syrva – The Quest (1/22/99)
  • Tara Filowitz [interview] (3/21/99)
  • Up The Octave [live performance] (11/05/00), (3/11/01)
  • Voicemale [live performance] (11/05/00)
  • We – Square Root Of Negative One (3/27/99)
  • Zuss & Hel [live performance] (9/30/00), (10/29/00)